Should I Stay or Should I Go?

My high school classmates have set the date for our 20 year reunion. Now I am debating the merits of attending.

I really have nothing for or against my old high school classmates. We keep in touch via electronic methods. I see pics of their kids. They see pics of mine. There are a few who seem like really good folks. I just don’t know them.

Is that the key? Re-engaging with people you haven’t really known in 20 years (or seen in 10). Maybe that’s it. If so it is probably the reason behind my apathy.

While you would never know it now, I was not particularly cool in high school.
It was not until college that I discovered that I could make lots of friends and hang with the right folks to have a successful social life.

So forgive me if I am not champing at the bit to go to a bar with a bunch of strangers to talk about all the cool stuff we did after we forgot about each other last time.

I may go. I may not. I just have to decide. The fact that the events are set for the weekend after Petit LeMans is also a strike against a Shelby trip.

6 thoughts on “Should I Stay or Should I Go?”

  1. I know exactly how it feels! A couple of years ago, I had the same question to ask myself? Should I stay or should I go?

    The meeting was in the playground of our primary school. I haven’t seen most of the guys (and by ‘guys’ I mean girls too, ofc …) for like 12 years. Actually we were 12 when we finished primary school, and “now” we were 24. Half of my life without seeing most of ’em, if you know what I mean …

    It feels just the same, when mam or dad says “you should call your cousin to go grab a cup of coffee”… It’s not that you hate your cousin (he / she), but it doesn’t mean that your ‘blood’ relationship equals you having fun!

    … sorry for babbling!

    I didn’t go to the meeting, but I knew that the guys I wanted to see the most wouldn’t be there… as it happened.

    Like

    1. Not babbling at all, I totally understand. I just think it will be a bit weird to see those folks again. My true friends for life were mostly folks from college.

      Like

Leave a Reply

