More thoughts on Veterans Day

I thought about this earlier as I was writing the Tumblr post for Veterans Day, and I thought I would share.

A few years ago, I made a trip to Washington DC for a communications conference.  One night while we were there, a group of us got together and went to the DC monuments at night (a very cool experience…everyone should do it).  The trip was just a year or so after my grandfather died, so I was rather excited to go to the WWII Memorial.

Short story…it was a moving, and spectacular night.  Standing in front of the Georgia stone, I thought about all my grandfather had done.  Henderson Field on Iwo Jima, Tarawa, Saipan, he was in the thick of it from beginning to end.  As I said earlier, I never really found out all that he did until he died…it was eye-opening to see all the places he went, and to think about being on a ship, moving from island to island, taking back the Pacific one lonely rock at a time.

for my last stop as I was leaving DC was Arlington, I went to the Marine Corps Memorial.

I cried.  Like a giant baby.  All 6-2 200 lbs of me, sobbing uncontrollably as I stood at the base of the monument.  I am sure that Buster was there with me that day.  I am sure he was happy that I recognized all he did for me, and for this country.  as I said this morning…they truly were the greatest generation.

Hats off to the veterans, each of us owe you a personal debt of thanks.

Also, I know I mentioned earlier about the pic of my grandfather in uniform…

Happy Veterans Day.

3 thoughts on “More thoughts on Veterans Day”

Leave a Reply

