Goodbye to a best friend

So  I realized tonight that my Facebook posting rules so some of you might not be up to date on what has been happening. We had to go to the vet and have Hugo put down this morning. It was a tough couple of days for the family, and I am not even sure that Sarah Kate has figured out what happened yet. We are going to wait for her to ask before we have a talk about it with her.

Hugo was my best friend for 13 years.  I will miss him terribly.
I wrote some things down earlier this week that I wanted to share about him.

To the best cat to ever utter a meow:

There are so many things that I can say about you.

You have been my best friend for almost as long as I can remember. From the day you showed up on my doorstep in LaGrange…we have been partners. Sitting in the north facing window (looking to your Canadian homeland), chattering at the various birds and squirrels that dared to cross your path, answering my whistle. (It will always be the Hugo whistle to this family), busting in like the Kool-Aid man to get your water from the shower. You loved to spend time in the sun, just lounging…but always quick to answer with a meow if I called your name.

You graciously allowed Frankie to join us when Linds moved in. You (begrudgingly) gradually came to know Lidsey as Mom.

Hugo did not like when Mom watched Glee.

I remember the time that I totally freaked out on a pizza man…because you escaped from the apartment. Luckily…you hadn’t gone far, and I corralled you back inside.

I think you spent most every night for the last 12 years sleeping between my legs, or at the foot of the bed. You were also pretty cool when we brought home a baby. Sometimes you even let Sarah Kate pull your tail without popping her in the head.

I am writing this while you are still around. I don’t want to try and remember these things after you are gone. My real hope is that I made your life maybe even half as awesome as you made mine.

I am not sure that I could have ever ordered a better cat. You did a great job finding me. I will miss you terribly. There will be a real void in my life without you around. I know there is a great debate about animals and heaven. But honestly if you are not waiting for me at the rainbow bridge…then I am not sure heaven will be what I expect it to be.

5 thoughts on “Goodbye to a best friend”

  1. I am so sorry for your loss. Saying goodbye to your best friend is the hardest thing to do. I know how much Hugo will be missed!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

